A “Special” Giveaway

a-specail-kind-of-love

A Special Kind of Love. Do y’all like hot firefighters? Have I got a man for you! Tanner West is smoldering! And  cowboy too!

Through Fights and Fire, Prejudice and Passion, Burns A Special Kind of Love
A divorced school teacher, estranged from her family, wants to start over. Sharon Daily moves to Gaines, Wyoming with her ten year old autistic son, Aaron. She hoped to find kindness and acceptance in this small town. She wasn’t looking for love…
Tanner West, the Fire Chief of Gaines, seems to have it all. Great job, loving family, and any woman he wants to warm his bed at night. But, Tanner has suffered too. A Native American in a white world, he longs to find love and acceptance. He is ready for more than someone to share his bed. He wants someone to share his life. And Sharon really lights his fire.
Making a life with Sharon will require A Special Kind of Love.

http://amzn.to/28YuEn6

http://bit.ly/2l4igHN

http://apple.co/29o4gE6

http://bit.ly/2lrm336

Excerpt- A Special Kind of Love

“Hello?”

“Hi, beautiful.”

The deep baritone of his voice rolled over her skin like a caress. She felt hot and cold at the same time and goose bumps crawled down her spine. She was in such big trouble.

“I didn’t expect to hear from you so soon,” she cooed.

“I don’t want to scare you off, but I really had a great time today. I want to get to know you better. I thought Aaron would be asleep by now and we could talk.”

“He is…asleep I mean. What do you want to talk about?”

“Where are you?”

“Um, I’m in bed.”

“Oh, man, now I have that visual in my head. I’ve been dreaming about you in bed. In my bed.”

Dang this man was coming on strong. But I kind of like it.

“Really? You are a naughty boy.”

“You have no idea. What are you wearing?”

Sharon laughed. “Sorry to ruin your fantasies, big boy, but I’m wearing flannel pajama pants and a T-shirt. I’m sure that’s not what you pictured.”

“I was picturing nothing…” Sharon barked a laugh. “That’s not what I meant! I mean I didn’t have anything specific in mind.”

The poor guy was stammering. She loved being able to fluster him.

“What are you wearing, Mr. West?”

Silence met her question.

“Tanner?”

“I’m not sure I should answer that question.”

“Fair is fair, I answered your question. Now answer mine.”

“Boxer shorts,” he mumbled.

She closed her eyes and pictured him in her mind. She knew he was muscular, she could just imagine his chest, smooth and tan. Would he have a hairy chest or smooth? Smooth she bet, considering his Native American ancestry. A six pack, at least and maybe a happy trail heading down behind the waistband of his shorts. She licked her suddenly dry lips.

“Do they have smiley faces on them?”

“No, never. SpongeBob.”

She laughed again. When was the last time she had laughed this much? Not in too long to remember.

“I don’t believe you.”

“No, really they’re just plain. But I made you laugh.”

“Yes, you did. You do that a lot. Thank you.”

“I love the sound of your laughter. I want to hear it all the time.”

That had to be about the sweetest thing anyone had ever said to her.

“So where are you?”

“I’m in bed, too. Our first date and we’re already in bed together.”

“You might want to slow down a little bit there, Tonto, I’m not that kind of girl.” Oh shit, had she really said that? Dumb, dumb, dumb. She probably offended him.

Tanner laughed and her anxiety eased.

“I think we should move on to a safer subject. Tell me why you became a firefighter.”

“Growing up around here, fire was always a threat. Wyoming can be very dry and windy. With all the woods, brush fires pop up all the time. I wanted to do something to help the community, and protect the wildlife. So it just seemed natural to go into firefighting.”

“Do you like it?”

“Most days I love it. Now that I’m chief I can’t say I love doing all the paperwork. But I love the rush I get from fighting a fire. The satisfaction I get from saving someone’s home or family. Gaines is a great community and I love being a part of it. I feel like I really make a difference. I can’t imagine doing anything else. What about you? What made you decide to become a teacher?”

“I always loved kids. I wanted to have a houseful. Learning always came easy to me, and I wanted to share that love.”

“I bet you’re a great teacher.”

“Thank you. I hope I am. I try to make my classes interesting and fun. I’m really looking forward to teaching here in Gaines. I know it will be different than Chicago and I’m looking forward to the smaller classes and hopefully more parent cooperation.”

“Yes, this is a small community and people will definitely participate. I don’t know if cooperate is exactly the right term. But stick their noses in your business, that they will do for sure.”

Sharon snuggled down into her covers. She was getting tired, but she wasn’t ready to end their conversation.

“You mentioned your mother and your sister today. What about the rest of your family?”

“My dad died when I was a kid. I have a brother, Jed. He lives in Cheyenne. Mom has a huge family, so I have tons of aunts and uncles and cousins. You’ll probably meet most of them at the dance. How about you? Do you have any brothers or sisters?”

“No, I’m an only child. My mom and dad live in Illinois. They are really the only family I have left.”

“What made you decide to move so far away from them? I can’t imagine moving away from my mom and all the rest of my clan.”

Sharon hesitated.  How much should she tell him? If they were going to have a relationship she wanted to start out on the right foot, but talking about her move was hard.

“It wasn’t an easy decision. Aaron and I needed a fresh start. I love my parents, but they have had a hard time accepting Aaron’s illness. My mom tries, but my dad… he’s from a different time. He doesn’t believe in mental illness. I know that sounds strange, but it’s just how he is. He thinks I should just make Aaron be normal. John, my ex-husband, left because he couldn’t deal with Aaron either. He was embarrassed to have a son that was different. I just felt we would be better off away from people that should love and accept him and don’t. Aaron is the most important thing in my life. I want him to have as happy and normal a life as possible, and I want that too. Maybe you should think about that before we pursue this thing between us any further. I am a package deal and I come with a lot of baggage. I haven’t let a lot of people into my life in the last several years. I don’t want to get hurt.”

“I would never hurt you on purpose, Sharon. I hope you know that. I don’t know where this thing between us will go. I know where I want it to go, but only time will tell. Believe me, I understand that you and Aaron are a set. I really like your son. I know what it’s like to be different. I’m a Native American in a white world. You might think in today’s society that wouldn’t be much of a stigma, but you’d be wrong. People always judge, and not always fairly. I know what it’s like to have people look at you as different or less, just because of who or what you are. I would never judge you and Aaron that way.”

“I’m sorry you’ve had to deal with prejudices too, Tanner. You’re right, I guess maybe we have more in common than I thought.

A Special Kind of Love is a very special book to me. It is dedicated to my son, Alex, who has Asperger’s Syndrome. I think some people see a book about a child with special needs and think… oh, this will be a downer. I assure you, this book is not a social statement or a depressing story. Does it shine a light on children that fall in the Autism Spectrum? I hope so. However, I hope it does so in a way that shows you that those children are not a burden, but a gift from God. Unique, exceptional, and different, but that’s what makes them special.

The sequel to A Special Kind of Love, A Burning Kind of Love, released Jan 17, 2017. Paige Tyler’s Dallas Fire and Rescue kindle World. So, to celebrate the new release, I’m giving away 10 copies of the audio book of A Special Kind of Love.

To enter comment on this post telling my your favorite type of romance hero…Bad boy, Alpha, cowboy, military man, guy next door, biker, etc, and why.

http://adbl.co/2kRJBRp

bkl

Gaines, Wyoming is just a dot on the map, but it’s home to Tammy Lewis. Abandoned by her “free spirit” parents, she was raised on the Rope N Ride Ranch by her grumpy gramps and doting grandma. The land and horses are her life…and it’s in danger. A raging brush fire is sweeping down the mountain.
Dallas firefighter, Cameron Wheeler came to Gaines for duty, he didn’t expect to find destiny. Drawn to the exotic beauty and indomitable spirit of the woman he’s sent to rescue—offered a chance at a real home and family in a new community.
Will the rescuer become the rescued? Or will the fire burning between them explode and leave only ashes behind?

http://amzn.to/2mq4Tlt

 

9 thoughts on “A “Special” Giveaway”

  1. I love audiobooks. I love almost all types of heroes – alphas, betas, spies, thieves, aristocrats, ex-military, firefighters, law enforcement, but my current favorite is rockstars. I love a bad boy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WOW that is a tough one, it depends on my mood but I am always into cowboys or military man but truly I love all the above again it depends what I am longing for at the time. I like a strong character that doesn’t take any crap but can be gentle and loving when it is time, doesn’t let a women walk all over him but knows when to give in. Controlling but not to much. I would have to say to some point that is how I like my men in real life, I do want a partner but someone who will listen and we decide together what to do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

